Eldridge Park

Due to its size, Eldridge Park is home to two playgrounds. The park also boasts Eldridge Lagoon, site of the Park District’s popular fall Fishing Derby and an outdoor ice skating rink in winter (pending ice thickness of eight inches.) Another favorite winter pastime at Eldridge is taking a run down the lighted sled hill on the north side of the park. Eldridge also hosts one soccer field, a baseball diamond, tennis courts, basketball courts, a roller hockey court, a butterfly garden, and the Eldridge Park Recreation Building. A ¾ mile path winding around the perimeter of the park serves as a link to Salt Creek Greenway Trail, a 30.6 mile regional pedestrian and bicycle pathway that serves 300,000 residents in 12 communities and two counties.

Eldridge Park borders Salt Creek, and hosts an ADA-accessible canoe launch on the far eastern edge of the Eldridge Park West parking lot (located on the west side of Salt Creek, just northeast of the intersection of Butterfield Road and Commonwealth Drive.) The Eldridge Canoe Launch was constructed in 2002 and has been assimilated into the Salt Creek Water Trail, which is part of the Northeastern Illinois Water Trails System. Would-be paddlers need to bring their own canoes or kayaks, as the Park District does not rent watercraft. No motorized watercraft is allowed at the launch. The launch is open dawn-dusk, and for a challenge, paddlers can follow the Salt Creek Water Trail north to Cricket Creek Forest Preserve and explore the beautiful wetland. Cricket Creek also hosts a canoe launch.

Amenities
  • Playground Equipment
  • Soccer Fields
  • Ball Diamond
  • Basketball Court
  • Tennis Courts
  • Roller Hockey Court
  • Sledding Hill
  • Walking Path
  • Ice Skating
  • Butterfly Garden
  • Drinking Fountains
Events & Activities
  • Adopt A Park
  • Fishing Derby
  • Summer Camps
History

Prior to the 1950s, this property served as a landfill because it was swampy and unusable. The landfill established some usable land, and in 1956, the Park District purchased 33 acres on the east side of Salt Creek. Development of Eldridge Park began in 1960. In 1962, additional land on the west side of Salt Creek was purchased. Several lots were purchased from the City in 1961, 1962, and 1970. In 1970, the Eldridge Park Lagoon was completed. Construction was completed on the recreation building in 1975. A new bridge was built in 1983 across Salt Creek, connecting the east and west sides of the park. In response to an engineering report regarding park settling problems (due to the previous landfill), the Board signed an agreement for fill and topsoil to be added to level a large area of the park in 1986.

The park was named for Edward Eldridge, an early homesteader and first supervisor of York Township, who came to the area in 1835 and planted his fields in what is now Eldridge Park. The name was chosen during a 'Name the Park' contest in 1957.

Current Size
42.79 acres